Friday, September 12, 2014

Great 10th Annual Faculty Convocation at UMass Amherst with Photos

Today is a picture perfect September day in beautiful Amherst, Massachusetts.

We just returned from the 10th Annual UMass Amherst Faculty Convocation at which our new Provost, Dr. Katherine Newman, gave her first speech and we honored 8 outstanding faculty members: with the Award for Outstanding Accomplishments in Research and Creative Activity.
Michael Ash, Economics; Center for Public Policy and Administration
W. Bruce Croft, Computer Science
David R. Evans, Educational Policy, Research, and Administration
Lyn Frazier, Linguistics
Panayotis Kevrekidis, Mathematics and Statistics
Barbara Krauthamer, History
Young Min Moon, Art, Architecture and Art History
Shelly Peyton, Chemical Engineering.

It was a wonderful ceremony with music, singing, a great speech by our new provost and remarks by our VCRE Dr. Michael Malone.

I took the photos below at the event and the delicious lunch that followed at the Campus Center. I was joined by my doctoral students in Management Science at the Isenberg School.

 Back in 2005, I was honored with the same award in the first group of recipients. The past decade has flown by!