Thursday, February 10, 2011

Deutsche Bank Prize in Financial Economics 2011 Announced and an Isenberg School Connection

I just received the letter below announcing the recipient of the Deutsche Bank Prize in Financial Economics 2011 and hearty congratulations are in order to Professor Kenneth Rogoff of Harvard University!

Annually, I get a request to nominate a deserving individual and this choice is excellent!

Dear Prof. Nagurney,

The Center for Financial Studies (CFS) has announced Kenneth Rogoff, Professor of Economics and Thomas D. Cabot Professor of Public Policy at Harvard University, as the award winner of the Deutsche Bank Prize in Financial Economics 2011.

The Jury has chosen Professor Rogoff for his pioneering contributions in the field of international finance and macroeconomics, including research on exchange rates and central bank credibility. His work on sovereign default and debt restructuring, global imbalances, and the history of financial crises is highly relevant for understanding and addressing today‘s global challenges.

The academic prize, sponsored by the Deutsche Bank Donation Fund, carries an endowment of € 50,000 and is awarded biannually by the CFS in partnership with Goethe University Frankfurt. The Deutsche Bank Prize in Financial Economics honors internationally renowned economic researchers whose work has a marked influence on research concerning questions of financial economics and macroeconomics, and has led to fundamental advances in economic theory and practice. The presentation of the prize by Josef Ackermann, CEO of Deutsche Bank, will take place as part of an academic symposium in Frankfurt on 22 September 2011.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, in case you have any queries.

With kind regards,

The members of Jury of the Deutsche Bank Prize in Financial Economics 2011

Prof. Luigi Guiso (European University Institute)

Prof. Michael Haliassos, Ph. D. (Director of the CFS)

Prof. Charles Yuji Horioka, Ph.D. (Osaka University)

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Otmar Issing (President of the CFS)

Prof. Dr. Jan P. Krahnen (Director of the CFS)

Prof. Dr. Raimond Maurer (Goethe University Frankfurt)

Dr. Thomas Mayer (Chief Economist of Deutsche Bank Group)

Prof. Carmen M. Reinhart, Ph.D. (Peterson Institute for International Economics)

Prof. Robert J. Shiller, Ph. D. (Award winner of 2009 and Yale University)

Prof. Dr. Uwe Walz (Chairman of the Jury 2011, Director of the CFS)




But there is more exciting news, and a local connection to the Isenberg School -- it is being reported in various newspapers globally that one of our MBA graduates, Anshu Jain, is being tipped to be Deutsche Bank's co-head.

There has been speculation about this news for months now in the financial news media.